Our approach aims to restore equilibrium and progressively build a more virtuous model for the benefit of the local populations, in a better-preserved environment. We believe that fundamental elements of context prior to the establishment of any business activity, should be taken into account. We call such an approach, the “Territorial Approach”.

A territorial approach takes into consideration the local dynamics which are characterized by cultural, economic, political and / or “symptomatic” factors (referring to recurring problems in that area). These factors can be defined separately or holistically but our approach takes into consideration the overall situation of the targeted area. Before setting up operations in these areas, we worked with the traditional authorities of the surrounding villages, as with local and provincial governments to convey our approach and our intentions.

 

In the Mossi language of Burkina Faso, Barksanem™ means “Gold is a blessing.”

Philosophy

Business is entirely built upon relationships. It can be defined as the creation and development of relationships between suppliers, customers, investors, partners, employees and all stakeholders impacted by the business. Business and the resulting jobs help give meaning, productivity and life to a given culture.  In the context of sustainable development, economic impact that creates deep societal transformation and promotion of positive relationships between all stakeholders, we have founded our business model on the following 4 pillars:

The Financial Pillar

“The business of business is business!” Business is not charity, businesses exists to make profit. Regardless of size, type, location, or the origins of the owner of the company, the main motivation for its existence is to make profit. Otherwise, the business would not exist.

The Social Pillar

Every business affects the local community either positively or negatively, as well as in the “Global Village” that we all live in. Each business contributes to the growing collectivity in which it operates. For a longtime, business leaders have been called upon to give direction or contribute financially to the needs of the collectivity. A wise business owner that the harmonious development of a business must have a positive role in the territory where it operates.

The Environmental Pillar

A business that demonstrates a real environmental conscience are not only “good”.  Its practices are consistent with Its business. The impact of human life and its activities on natural resources is growing dramatically. However, the poorest nations of the world have the most important natural resources of the planet. By implementing appropriate environmental principles, corporate leaders protect their resources and interests over the long term. It is also in the interest of their collectivity as well as the environment of the entire planet.

The Beliefs Pillar

For most populations in emerging countries, there is no separation between aspects of everyday life and the “sacred”. Being a “human” often implies a sacred dimension based on beliefs that affect the dynamics of life. This is why we integrate this structuring dimension of the life of individuals and the communities into our actions.

CORE VALUES

Compliance

Every aspect of our business is done in accordance with the pertinent regulations by voluntarily integrating major principles currently applicable:

The adherence to these rules reflect our commitment to fight against all forms of fraud in the mining sector, to fight against the work of women and children on mining sites, to propose alternatives to criminal or dangerous practices.

Innovation

Barksanem™’s goal is to be in constant research of the most adapted practices in the entire chain of production, ensuring that these innovations remain coherent with the social, environmental and legal context of the territories of implementation.

Continuous improvement of prospecting, production and processing of minerals, as well as the life of village collectivities and employees of the company.

Training and support

It is not our intention to impose new practices on the collectivities of the target territories without the adhesion and appropriation of the populations concerned. We believe that personal assistance and pedagogy provided by pilot groups of adults and even in schools, in close contact with chiefdoms and local administrations, allow long-term and large-scale changes in practices.

Valorization of the production chain

Barksanem™ seeks optimal valorization for the entire production chain by digitizing, tracking and securing the entire supply chain. The approach creates an intrinsic and natural fight against fraud of the mining field and ensures a greater security of the processes and the collectivities of artisanal miners.

Self-sufficiency of the collectivities

The mining operations of Barksanem™ must be harmoniously integrated into the mining and / or village collectivities of the territory. These collectivities participate in the economic project of the company. The sustainability of the business is guaranteed by a tangible and practical commitment to these collectivities , focused on their self-sufficiency in the areas of access to water and sanitation, access to energy, to agriculture, health and education. Our intention is to translate this self-sufficiency by setting up village cooperatives for the access of tools, seeds, basic foodstuffs, etc.

For us, a company is a community  that “creates community” with its social, economic and natural environment.

Performance

Being good does not mean being better than the others, but giving the best of yourself, and accepting to work in order to progress. It is our commitment to constantly improve the effectiveness of tools and methods.

Respect

To be respected, one must respect others. Others mean first of all my partners, my collaborators, employees and managers with whom I form a business community. The others are also all the actors with whom the company is in direct relationship to accomplish its mission. It is also the natural environment in all its diversity that we must preserve and restore when necessary.

Openness

Openness is the essence of innovation. Not being satisfied with the “already done” or “already known” allows to explore unchartered waters of the company.

VIRTUOUS CIRCLES

for micro-collectivities in economic, social and environmental terms
CONTACT-US

Préambule

Notre démarche vise à rétablir des équilibres, permettant de construire progressivement  un modèle plus vertueux au bénéfice des populations locales et dans un environnement mieux préservé. Il nous paraît fondamental que les éléments essentiels du territoire soient pris en compte préalablement à l’engagement d’activités. Nous avons appelé une telle démarche « Approche Territoire ».

L’approche territoire consiste à prendre en compte la réalité globale des territoires d’implantation de nos activités, tant sur plan culturel qu’économique, politique ou « symptomatique » (faisant référence aux problèmes récurrents dudit territoire). Ces réalités peuvent se définir séparément ou ensemble. C’est ainsi qu’avant de nous établir sur les zones sélectionnées, nous prenons attache avec les autorités des villages alentour, comme avec les administrations locales et provinciales, afin d’établir un diagnostic rapide ainsi que pour expliquer nos intentions et notre approche.

              Barksanem™ signifie dans la langue moré du Burkina Faso « or de bénédiction ».

Philosophie

Le business est tout entier bâti sur les relations. Il peut être défini comme la création et le développement de relations entre les fournisseurs, les clients, les investisseurs, les partenaires, les employés ainsi que les entreprises avec lesquelles nous travaillons. Le business et les emplois qui en découlent contribuent à donner du sens, de la productivité et de la vie dans une culture donnée. Dans la perspective d’un développement économique durable, porteur de transformations, promouvant des relations saines et positives entre toutes les parties prenantes et respectueux de l’environnement, nous avons fondé tous nos projets sur ces quatre socles :

Le socle financier

Le business du business, c’est de faire du business ! Le business n’est pas une démarche de charité et le business existe pour faire du profit. Pour chaque business, quels que soient sa taille, son type, son lieu d’implantation ou l’arrière-plan de son propriétaire, la motivation doit être de faire du profit. Sans profit, il n’y a pas de business possible.

Le socle social

Que ce soit d’une manière positive ou négative, tout business a un impact sur la communauté locale comme sur le « village global » dans lequel nous vivons tous. Chaque business participe à la trame de la communauté dans laquelle il opère. Depuis longtemps, les responsables d’entreprises sont appelés à donner une direction ou contribuer financièrement aux besoins de la communauté. Un bon chef d’entreprise sait que le rôle d’un bon business est d’avoir un impact positif sur la communauté où il est implanté.

Le socle environnemental

Le business qui démontre une conscience écologique, ne fait pas seulement ce qui est bien. Ses pratiques sont cohérentes avec son activité. L’impact de la vie et de l’activité humaine ne fait que croître. De nombreuses nations parmi les plus pauvres détiennent les plus grandes ressources naturelles de la planète. En adoptant des principes de fonctionnement respectueux de l’environnement, les responsables de business protègent durablement les intérêts et ressources naturels, non seulement de la communauté locale, mais plus globalement du monde entier.

Le socle des croyances

Pour la plupart des populations des pays émergents, il n’y a aucune séparation entre les aspects de la vie quotidienne et les aspects « sacrés » de cette vie. Etre un « humain » implique bien souvent une dimension sacrée fondée sur des croyances qui imprègnent les réalités de la vie. C’est pourquoi nous intégrons dans nos actions cette dimension structurante de la vie des personnes et des communautés.

Valeurs Fondamentales

Conformités

L’ensemble des actions de nos entreprises se fait en conformité avec les règlementations en vigueur et en intégrant volontairement les grands principes des guides de bonnes pratiques en application :

L’adhésion à ces règles nous engage à lutter contre toutes les formes de fraudes propres au domaine minier, à lutter contre le travail des femmes et des enfants sur les sites miniers et à proposer des alternatives aux pratiques délictueuses ou dangereuses.

Innovations

La démarche de Barksanem™ est d’être un laboratoire en recherche permanente des pratiques les plus adaptées sur toute la chaîne de production, s’assurant que ces innovations restent cohérentes avec le contexte social, environnemental et légal des territoires d’implémentation.

Amélioration continue de la prospection, de la production et du traitement des minéraux, ainsi que des bases de vie des communautés villageoises et des collaborateurs de l’entreprise.

Pédagogie et accompagnement

Il n’est pas de notre intention d’imposer de nouvelles pratiques aux communautés des territoires cibles sans l’adhésion des populations concernées et leur appropriation de la démarche. Nous croyons que l’accompagnement et la pédagogie dispensés à partir de groupes pilotes d’adultes et même dans les écoles, en relation étroite avec les chefferies et les administrations locales, permettent des évolutions durables des pratiques.

Valorisation de la chaine de production

Barksanem™ recherche la valorisation optimale de toute la chaîne de production par la numérisation, le traçage et la sécurisation de la chaîne logistique. La démarche permet de lutter « naturellement » contre les fraudes propres au secteur minier et d’offrir une plus grande sécurité des communautés d’orpailleurs.

Autonomie des communautés

Les activités minières de Barksanem™ doivent s’inscrire de manière harmonieuse dans la communauté d’orpailleurs et/ou villageoise du territoire. Ces communautés participent au projet économique de l’entreprise. La pérennité de ce projet étant garantie par un engagement concret et pratique auprès de ces communautés, en vue de leur autonomie dans les domaines de l’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement, de l’accès à l’énergie, dans le domaine agricole, celui de la santé et de l’éducation. Notre intention est de traduire cette autonomie par la mise en place de coopératives villageoises pour l’accès aux outillages, aux semences, aux denrées primaires, etc.

L’entreprise est une communauté qui « fait communauté » avec son environnement social, économique et naturel.

Performance

Etre performant ne signifie pas être meilleur que l’autre, mais donner le meilleur de soi-même, en acceptant de travailler afin de progresser.  Barksanem™ s’engage à améliorer constamment l’efficacité des outils et des méthodes.

Respect

Pour être respecté soi-même, il convient de respecter l’autre. L’autre, c’est mon partenaire, mon collaborateur, l’employé et le responsable avec lequel je forme une « communauté entrepreneuriale ». Les autres, ce sont aussi tous les acteurs avec lesquels l’entreprise est en relation directe pour accomplir sa mission. C’est aussi l’environnement naturel dans toute sa diversité que l’on se doit de préserver et de restaurer quand cela est nécessaire.

Ouverture

L’ouverture est l’essence de l’innovation. Ne pas se satisfaire du déjà-vu ou du déjà-su permet d’explorer des espaces vierges dans tous les domaines de l’entreprise.

DES DYNAMIQUES VERTUEUSES

pour les micro-communautés sur le plan économique, social et environnemental
CONTACTEZ-NOUS